• Four new marine protected areas have been designated off the islands of Tanimbar, Damer, Mdona Hiera, Lakor, Moa, Letti and the Romang in Maluku province in Indonesia.
  • These areas will protect threatened species including the green turtle, the scalloped hammerhead shark, and an abundance of coral reefs and other marine ecosystem.
  • These protected areas will bring the Indonesian government two-thirds of the way to their goal of ensuring effective management of 10% of national waters by 2030.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.