Climate Scientist Professor Michael Taylor of The University of the West Indies’ Mona Campus has been named among the 2019 laureates for the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence. Professor Taylor who was recently appointed Dean of the Faculty of Science and Technology at the Mona Campus will receive the ANSA Award for Excellence in Science and Technology. A UWI alumnus, Professor Taylor has done outstanding work in the area of climate change. He has been the Director of the Climate Studies Group, Mona (CSGM) since 2007 and has successfully positioned the CSGM as a centre of regional thought and expertise with respect to climate change science and the leading centre for coordinating regional climate modelling efforts. Professor Taylor also serves on a number of national and regional boards and committees. He is a member of the Climate Change Advisory Board in Jamaica’s Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation and served as a member of the Advisory Panel on Climate Change for the Ministry of Land, Water, Environment and Climate Change from 2012-2016. Not surprisingly, Professor Taylor’s research which has produced over 100 publications and garnered over US$ 20 million in research grants and funding for The […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.