Ilhan Omar, who could become the first Somali-American in Congress after her primary win, took the No Fossil Fuel Money pledge. With the Democratic National Committee ‘s sudden reversal on fossil fuel contributions last week, environmental advocates were relieved to see a number of climate champions emerge from Tuesday’s midterm primaries. A number of high-profile winners even signed the No Fossil Fuel Money pledge—an initiative of the young climate activist group Sunrise Movement —which demands politicians and their campaigns not accept contributions over $200 from the PACs, executives or front groups of oil, gas, or coal companies. Here are some of the signatories who won last night: Ilhan Omar, who is poised to be one of the first Muslim women elected to Congress after winning the Democratic primary in Minnesota’s Fifth Congressional District; Randy "IronStache" Bryce, who is seeking to fill House Speaker Paul Ryan’s Wisconsin district seat; Vermont Democrat Christine Hallquist, a former energy company executive, became the first transgender candidate to be nominated for a governorship; U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison, the deputy chairman of the Democratic National Committee, who won the Democratic nomination for Minnesota attorney general; Independent U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders, who won Vermont’s Democratic Senate […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.